Williamson, Taylor big winners at New Zealand Cricket annual awards - Daily Qudrat Global

Williamson, Taylor big winners at New Zealand Cricket annual awards

New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson and senior batsman Ross Taylor are among winners at the New Zealand Cricket annual awards.

The 29-year-old Williamson claimed the men’s ODI player of the year title after his outstanding 2019 World Cup campaign where he was named player of the tournament with 578 runs at an average of 82.57.

Ross Taylor named ‘T20I cricketer of the year’. The middle-order batsman recently scored 360 runs in the white-ball series against India. Overall in T20s at the international circuit, Taylor has scored 1961 runs in 101 games with eight half-centuries.

Suzie Bates was named the women’s ODI player of the year after making two half-centuries in three matches against South Africa which were the women’s team only games in the format over the last 12 months.

In T20Is, Sophie Devine was named ‘T20I cricketer of the year’ after she became the first player, male or female, to score five T20I half-centuries in a row, which she extended to six while accumulating 429 runs over the period.

Due to COVID-19, the awards are being done virtually and the final group of awards will be announced on Friday which includes Test player of the year, umpire of the year, and the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

What is your view on this ? Let us know in the comments section

- Advertisement -